Committees

Executive: 1st Monday of every month (or 10 days prior to the meeting at 6:30 P.M.)
Sets the agenda for board meetings, receives requests, and assigns tasks.
George Thomas, President
Marlin Medrano, Vice President
Jeanette Hopp, Secretary
Veronica Marin, treasurer
Josef Lazarovitz, parliamentarian
Maria Skelton, chairperson of the outreach committee
Location: Braude Center 6262 Van Nuys Blvd.Meeting Room 1-A

Safety: 2nd Wednesday of every month prior to VNNC general board meeting at 6:00 P.M.
Deals with community safety issues within the Van Nuys Neighborhood Council area.
Josef Lazarovitz, chairman (josef.l@vnnc.org)
Additional Members of the committee — (Penelope Meyer, John Hendry)
Location: Braude Center, 6262 Van Nuys Blvd, Room 1-A

Parks & Recreation: 3rd Tuesday of every month at 6:30 P.M.
Deals with issues concerning children and youth, park programs, facilities and playgrounds in the VNNC area.
John Camera, Chair, (john.camera@vnnc.org) 818-385-5665
additional members of the committee —
Location: Delano Recreation Center, 14100 Erwin Street, Van Nuys, CA.

Budget & Finance: 1st Monday of every month at 7:00 P.M.
Deals with Van Nuys Neighborhood Council (VNNC) budgetary issues.
Veronica Marin, chairwoman  (veronica.marin@vnnc.org)
additional members of the committee — (Maria Skelton, Howard Benjamin, Stacey Rains)
Location: TBD

Planning & Land Use: 3rd Wednesday of every month at 6:30 P.M.
Deals with planning, zoning and land use issues that affect the VNNC community, including proposals for new projects, zoning changes and variances, proposals for tenant improvement (T.I.) construction, building improvements and special uses, development, development of new business e.t.c.
Steve C. Friedmann, Co-chair, steve.friedmann@vnnc.org – Penny Meyer, Co-chair, penny.meyer@vnnc.org
additional members of the committee — Howard Benjamin, Glenn Epstein, Jerry Martin, John Hendry, Heather Lee, Alternate: Jason Ackerman.
Location: Van Nuys Police Station Community Room

Government Relations/Rules & Bylaws: Meetings held TBD
Deals with citywide issues, council files, actions of city officials and departments, bylaws, rules and regulations, policies and
procedures.
Chairmen Paul Anand  (paul.anand@vnnc.org)
additional members of the committee — (Jason Ackerman, John Hendry)

Outreach: Meetings held last Thursday of every month.
Deals with outreach to inform the VNNC community about board meetings, elections, committee meetings, projects and
special events, e.t.c.
Maria Skelton, chairwoman, (maria.s@vnnc.org)
additional members of the committee –Mike Browning, Kathleen Padden, Ashley Neyra, Richard Hopp, Aimee Cane (stakeholder), Adrian Morena (stakeholder)
Location: varies

Sustainability: TBA.
Deals with Sustainability to inform the VNNC community about board meetings, elections, initiatives, committee meetings, projects and local events.
Jerry Martin (jerry.martin@vnnc.org) & John Hendry (john.hendry@vnnc.org), co-chairs
additional members of the committee —
Location TBA