monorail on 405

Constituents Propose Monorail Through Sepulveda Pass

Retired Sherman Oaks space engineer (Bob Anderson) and local architect (Jeff Kalban) have drafted a mass transit concept from Van Nuys to LAX that they think gives Metro’s own proposals a run for their money. A monorail running above the 405 freeway, straight down the middle, that could be cheaper and easier to build while minimizing impacts on neighborhood streets from the San Fernando Valley to the Westside. LA Metro has rejected the concept, but The Sherman Oaks Neighborhood Council passed a measure to support the proposal, and a letter to Metro staff from the Sherman Oaks Homeowners Assosciation emphasizes a continued preference for the two fully underground heavy rail options known as HRT1 and HRT2 but presents MRT2 — a dual-track monorail above the 405 median — as a more affordable option. See link for presentation about their fascinating concept: Valley to LAX Monorail SOHA SONC Presentation

The Planning and Land Use Committee heard this presentation and would like to make it available to our stakeholders. We will consider supporting it at our next meeting. Meanwhile, we invite you to consider the project and contact the following people with your support.

From the presentation:

I absolutely oppose any elevated tracks above any Valley streets – Unfair!
I support a fully underground subway in the Valley, but only if it’s affordable
The ONLY acceptable alternative is a monorail along the middle of the 405

Email comments to:

Supervisor Sheila Kuehl, Chair, Metro Board, sheila@bos.lacounty.gov
Mayor James Butts, First Vice Chair, Metro Board, mayor@cityofinglewood.org
Mayor Eric Garcetti, Second Vice Chair, Metro Board, mayor.garcetti@lacity.org
Supervisor Kathryn Barger, Metro Board, kathryn@bos.lacounty.gov
Councilmember Mike Bonin, Metro Board, councilmember.bonin@lacity.org
Councilmember Paul Krekorian, Metro Board, councilmember.krekorian@lacity.org
Mayor Ara Najarian, Metro Board, anajarian@glendaleca.gov
Joshua Schank, Metro Chief Innovation Officer, schankj@metro.net
Cory Zelmer, Metro Project Manager, zelmerc@metro.net
Metro Email Comment Box, sepulvedatransit@metro.net

Mail comments to:
Cory Zelmer, Metro Project Manager, Sepulveda Transit Corridor Project Metro, One Gateway Plaza, M/S 99-22-5, Los Angeles, CA 90012